Moderators: Derry, Goldie, Harpo
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Honorary Mechanic
Posted
I use statcounter on all of my sites, yesteray when I checked one of the sites had a big jump in page views.

When I looked further i found that one visitor had viewed 413 pages yesterday at 03.09pm in 5 mins, no Referring Link and accessed from c33.statcounter.com/xxxxxxx/0/fxxxxxxx/x with a location in Sweden from IP address 195.178.177.178

I have since blocked the IP address on all sites.

1) Is this anything to be concerned about and what do they achieve from this.

2) I would be interested to know if anyone has had any similar problems.

Thanks
Tony
 
Posts: 302 | Location: UK Warwickshire | Registered: December 07, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Guru 'Power' Mechanic
Picture of Bruceee
Posted Hide Post
How many pages in your site? If about 413 pages, then I suppose it is possible that someone has found your site so interesting that they have snagged all the pages for later off-line reading. I know there are programs that will capture whole web-sites, but haven't used one myself.
 
Posts: 9235 | Location: Wellington, New Zealand | Registered: December 11, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Honorary Mechanic
Posted Hide Post
It's a thought, but there's only 89,but if I click on c33.statcounter.com/xxxxxxx/0/fxxxxxxx/x in Statcounter I only get a blank page in IE.
Any ideas why anyone would want to do this? They must have gone to the trouble to "view source" to get the code for the site,
 
Posts: 302 | Location: UK Warwickshire | Registered: December 07, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Honorary Mechanic
Picture of Bailey
Posted Hide Post
Hmm, interesting result when I entered that ip address Confused
 
Posts: 689 | Location: Perth Australia (ex Wales) | Registered: June 23, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Honorary Mechanic
Picture of FenxLegacy
Posted Hide Post
Tony,

It appears to be someone from Statcounter. If you type in just c33.statcounter.com, it comes up a welcome page from the webmaster.
 
Posts: 106 | Registered: September 09, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Honorary Mechanic
Posted Hide Post
Thanks FenxLegacy,

I only get a "can't display the requested page" if I Google it I get theextremegroup.com

I have posted a question on the Statcounter Forum, I'll let you know what they say about it.
 
Posts: 302 | Location: UK Warwickshire | Registered: December 07, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Honorary Mechanic
Picture of FenxLegacy
Posted Hide Post
Please let me know. I'm currently using them and am curious. I know when I check my stats, I get unregistered ISP's frequently. Let me know.
 
Posts: 106 | Registered: September 09, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Honorary Mechanic
Posted Hide Post
I think Bruce was basically right Smile This was the reply from Statcounter Moderator

"Don't worry, it's a phenomenon that happens when a visitor uses some kind of browser accelerator or pre-fetcher (often a Firefox add-on). That works quietly and quickly in the background to pre-fetch many or all the pages (all the urls actually) while the visitor may only be looking at one page. As it pre-fetches all teh urls it encounters, at one point it will pre-fetch the url of the statcounter image that does the tracking - and when doing that what is logged as the page visited is its own url."

Tony
 
Posts: 302 | Location: UK Warwickshire | Registered: December 07, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
  Powered by Eve Community  
 


™ & © 1998 - 2008, Virtual Mechanics Inc. All rights reserved.